Understanding and working with versions allows any developer to maintain and control the different iterations of the various resources that have been edited, deployed, or updated. Using history allows for roll back and logging of versions that have been created for both audit, and reverting to previous working configurations.


Objectives

In this section you will learn:

  • How to create a new version
  • How to view history
  • How to update
  • How to roll back to a previous version

Overview

Zentral allows for the embedding of named versions of edited configurations to help manage the design, deployment, and secure functioning for each resource for each product version being utilized in either pipelines or deployments. It is a key point to understand that versions in this context, are referred to versions, and anything related to product version, relates to the version of the code base that the DDC, DDD, or DDA being used. This distinction is important as both versioning systems do different things. Product versions can be updated when Datumize releases minor, or major product version updates such as DDC 6.0.0 or DDD 1.0.1. Versions controlled by the user are created by the end user and saved as such and are not Datumize software product versions.


How to create a version - Pipelines

When creating a pipeline for the first time, you will essentially be creating the very first version of that pipeline. At this stage it may be appropriate to begin planning on version management. Therefore a good first step is to name your pipeline.

You can name the pipeline however you would like. This will come in handy later when identifing pipelines, but also will useful when editing the properties of the pipeline so that a description can be added. To do this click on the More Actions.

Under the properties section, you will able to add a description, or rename the pipeline as well as see the product version, and change the product version, if available. Saving the pipeline will create the first version of the pipeline.

This is now the baseline of the pipeline, and each subsequent save, will create new version of the saved configuration. Each configuration change you will save, will bring a prompt for action to also add a description, this is advisable to help identify which snapshot of the version you are on.



Save a snapshot

A snapshot is a useful way to set the pipeline for future use, and allows for switching between pipeline snapshots. Once a pipeline has been saved a new snapshot will be necessary to work with to avoid impacting a pipeline that you may not intend to alter for one reason or another.


How to view history

Under the More Actions drop down: Select History.

Once you are viewing history, it is now possible to view the saved versions of each saved change. This allows for the ability to audit changes, change between versions, and roll back versions.


How to rollback to a previous version

At any point should you wish to roll back to a previous pipeline version, simply view the history log, and select the highlighted version you want to utilize. Keep in mind a new snapshot will need to be created if the version you want to modify is brought back for the version history.

Clicking restore will bring up the saved pipeline.

Selecting review will allow you to pull up the version highlighted. This is useful to see what previous changes have been committed should you want to roll back.